mmf!The Giver Should Be Thankful
One thing life is not short of is suffering. Reducing the suffering of others, being compassionate, it is said, is the only religion a person needs. With that in mind, I’d like to share one of my favorite koans:
http://deoxy.org/koan/53

While Seisetsu was the master of Engaku in Kamakura he required larger quarters, since those in which he was teaching were overcrowded. Umezu Seibei, a merchant of Edo, decided to donate five hundred pieces of gold called ryo toward the construction of a more commodious school. This money he brought to the teacher.

Seisetsu said: “All right. I will take it.”

Umezu gave Seisetsu the sack of gold, but he was dissatisfied with the attitude of the teacher. One might live a whole year on three ryo, and the merchant had not even been thanked for five hundred.

“In that sack are five hundred ryo,” hinted Umezu.

“You told me that before,” replied Seisetsu.

“Even if I am a wealthy merchant, five hundred ryo is a lot of money,” said Umezu.

“Do you want me to thank you for it?” asked Seisetsu.

“You ought to,” replied Uzemu.

Why should I?” inquired Seisetsu. “The giver should be thankful.”

As I was browsing through blogs this week, I came across #1000Speak for Compassion posting lots of gratitude quotes, getting us ready for Thanksgiving. This one by Alice Walker stood out to me:

โ€˜Thank youโ€™ is the best prayer that anyone could say. I say that one a lot. Thank you expresses extreme gratitude, humility, understanding.

http://1000voicesspeak.org/2015/11/19/the-wisdom-of-gratitude/

Anyone can say thank you. And having someone to give to–a teacher, or a friend, or a partner–is something worth far more and any gift anyone can give. Say thank you to them. Because they are irreplaceable.

Lastly (but not leastly!), D. Parker of yadadarcyyada gives us the gift of 10 Ways To Be Grateful Even On Bad Days.
http://yadadarcyyada.com/2015/11/17/10-ways-to-be-grateful-even-on-bad-days/

And what is number one on the list?

Family and friends.

I am grateful that I have people to give to–my wonderful mentor, and YOU, my friends!
What are you grateful for?

