mmf!The Repulsive Reveal
For today’s LMG Internet Buffet, I’d like to do something a little different and post something that I’ve been mulling over but didn’t actually come from any blog. Okay I guess by now some of you have noticed that I like to create things from time to time! And like anyone, I have interests and certain things spark that interest and one of those things is pokemon, though I haven’t played much lately.

One of the things that fascinates me the most is a pokemon called Yamask AKA “the spirit pokemon”. Its flavor text in the game goes:

These Pokรฉmon arose from the spirits of people interred in graves. Each retains memories of its former life. Each of them carries a mask that used to be its face when it was human. Sometimes they look at it and cry.

Keeping that in mind, take a look at this Game Theory video titled Humans Are Pokemon:

(Feel free to skip ahead to 2:26 when the talk actually starts!)

It’s usually cool when a game or story makes a reveal that is somewhat shocking but also something that had been hinted at all along. I think the weirder the revelation, the more interesting it makes the work. I’ve been trying to think of a reveal in any game or story that was totally shit to contrast to the cool ones, but I’ve been drawing a blank. I mean, a reveal that you suspect like “that guy is so and so’s dad” is kind of a shit reveal in its simplicity except when it’s Darth Vader and you’re both shocked and disgusted. It’s almost like the best reveals are also somewhat repulsive, like the “Soylent Green is ppl!1” reveal.

Thoughts?

